Writing Begins With the Breath

I’m trying to get through Writing Begins With the Breath by Laraine Herring before school starts. I know I was supposed to read Spunk & Bite but I was kind of bored by it. I’ll go back to it soon, once I have time to give it the attention it deserves. I’m sure it gets much more interesting.

Herring’s book is amazing. She talks about the way we are blocking our writing instead of blaming writer’s block. There are a lot of exercises and I have to say that I stumbled on one of them. The exercises are emotionally intense and brought up a lot of painful feelings for me. Makes me want to reread Writing as a Way of Healing by Louise DeSalvo.

I’m going to try and work on the exercises more this evening. In the meantime, I’ve been researching MFA programs. Pine Manor is at the top because I like their program and my mentor lives a few miles away. I’ve heard Boston has a great arts scene. I don’t think it is wise to just pick one but I also don’t know how much I want to spend applying to different schools. So far, my list includes Pine Manor, Pacific University, Ashland, Goddard, Antioch, and Goucher. The application fees are $30-$50 each. It’s good to have options but how many do I really need.

I am also debating cross-genre studies. My main concern would be taking a semester away from creative nonfiction (and thus my thesis) to study poetry. While poetry could inform my writing, I don’t know if this would be a positive or negative thing. Pine Manor and Ashland offer cross-genre creative nonfiction and poetry. Given a choice, I’d love to go to school in New England. Hmm…

This entry was posted in book review, books, creative writing, literature, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

