Low Cost MFA?

After my meltdown last night, I head to AWP’s website and looked through their listing on creative nonfiction low residency MFA programs. I found seventeen programs that were under $30,000. Most were in the low to mid twenties.

I feel a lot freer now that I know there are other programs for me to choose from. Cost is a big concern of mine especially since most low residency programs don’t offer financing. I’ll be saving about $20,000 so I think I can afford to fly to my residencies. I’m using my MFA handbook to create a chart so I can pick which schools I want to apply to. I’d like to narrow it down to five because of application fees.

This entry was posted in creative writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

