AWP Conference

Despite a difficult drive to Denver this afternoon, I am here and ready for the Association of Writers and Writing Programs conference. It took us over an hour to go five miles. A tanker truck tipped over and spilled 4,000 gallons of gasoline on the highway. Luckily there were no injuries.

I’m excited about the conference. I found out today that one of my favorite poets, Martin Espada, will be speaking on Friday. I’ll be posting information about the different seminars I attend. We are staying at the Crossland Economy Suites and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. We are five miles away from the convention center and are paying $39.99 a night, compared to $189 a night for the Hyatt AWP is promoting. We have a mini-fridge, stove, kitchen sink, desk, cable, internet…it’s really great for the price. I’m hoping Nick and I can wake up by 7am to get over to the convention center. I must say, I am a little peeved that I have to pay $15 a day to park at the convention center even though I paid to attend the event. Oh well, I’m just happy to be here.

This entry was posted in creative writing, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

