Ah Ubik, How You Taunt Me

I just finished reading an article about Philip K. Dick and his years in Orange County. If you don’t know who Philip K. Dick is, well you’ve been living under a rock. He was a prolific sci-fi writer, responsible for A Scanner Darkly, Blade Runner (Four-Disc Collector's Edition) and Minority Report (Widescreen Two-Disc Special Edition). Plus many other works. I personally like The Man in the High Castle. My ultimate favorite is Ubik.

I would explain the plot, but it is available on Wikipedia and frankly I’m tired. What I am more interested in is Ubik the film. In 2008, it was announced that Celluloid Dreams would produce Ubik. We’re still waiting. There is a mention of it in the article by the L.A. Times but no website listed. A search of IMDB turned up nothing nor did YouTube or Google. What the hell is going on here? The Times lists the film as debuting this year but I can’t find any information. Has anyone heard anything?

In an amusing side note, some Philip K. Dick fans actually call themselves Dickheads. That is too funny. If you haven’t read any of his work, you definitely should. I’m not even a sci-fi reader and I like his work.

Ubik

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

