One Week ‘Til Nano

The Hydromatic Plot-O-Matic
Ok, so I’ve decided to do it. I’m going to take the Nanowrimo challenge. I went to the kickoff party today and even got a new notebook. Sadly, I find myself much in the same place as last year…I haven’t the foggiest idea of what to write. Do I write fantasy? Mainstream fiction? A sappy romance novel? I don’t know and I only have a week to figure it out.

I did manage to rope my sister into competing with me so huzzah to that. I was even able to pick up my t-shirt from last year. I know, I never picked it up. Luckily our ML rocks socks and saved it for me. I felt like such a tool. Ah well, it won’t happen again.

In my wanderings for an idea I stumbled upon Hatch’s Plot Bank. Some of the ideas are interesting and will really help my brainstorming session. Others were boring or trite. Don’t expect a full novel plot here, just some small nuggets of ideas for you to build upon. Here are some of my favorites:

16 grandma’s old Bible is ruined in flash flood (Makes me think of an old homestead).

54 he gave the same type of ring to TWO girls

55 tests show the baby could have a genetic disease

84 bride demands a New Age wedding

85 she wants to add something odd to the vows

I’m sensing a theme here, about a family in turmoil. Struggles abound in this tragedy. Hmm…yes I think I will take all the ones that grab me, print them out and then use them in a brainstorming session. My deliverance may be at hand. Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in creative writing, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

