Checking In

So I started my ten page a day habit on Sunday. The pages were easy that day. I used the “Writer’s Book of Days” for a prompt. On Monday, I didn’t have much oomph. I wrote about four pages and just couldn’t muster any more. I was bored with the prompt and irritated. I felt pretty bad, like I had already failed. I wondered if I had set myself up for failure, so I could place the blame elsewhere. Yesterday, I went to my sister’s house and I’m happy to say, I did my ten pages plus finished up Monday’s pages. I feel a lot better now.

I spend a lot of time writing about writing. My notebook isn’t just for fiction, it’s for exploring the process. For figuring out what is blocking me. I discovered a lot about myself yesterday and why I stopped writing for so many years. Now I’m getting back to basics. I’m reading a Mercedes Lackey book and outlining the plot chapter by chapter. This is not so I can copy, but so I can have a clear idea of successful plot progression. I recommend you do the same thing. There’s a big difference between reading a book for fun and studying it.

I am also setting up my objectives. For instance, I’m going to give myself one month to complete Patricia C. Wrede’s fantasy worldbuilding questions. After that, I have two weeks to outline and plot my novel. Then finally, I will give myself a year and a half to write my novel. I’m shooting for two pages a day, five days a week. I’m not mathematician so I’m not sure how that works out in novel length. All of this, the wordbuilding and plotting will go in my notebook and count towards my current writing goals. I know two pages doesn’t sound like much, but when it has to be a cohesive story, it is more than you think. In addition to the writing, editing, organizing and other elements go into it.

Maybe sit down this week and come up with a writing schedule. Then come up with a list of objectives. I’m getting ready to go to an 11-8 shift, which for me means that I need to be up by 9am to get my work on my novel done. Right now I get up sometime between noon and 1pm. Over the next two weeks, my goal is to get up a little bit earlier each day, probably ten minutes. It will suck being in bed before my husband gets home but sacrifices must be made if I intend to get anywhere. I want to stop wishing I was writing regularly and start actually doing it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

