Back in Black

Ah, my devoted readers (both of you)…I’m back. So, why have I been gone for two months? A string of medical problems, both physical and mental have prevented my return. That’s all in the past now. Things are rather dark for me right now…clothing, music, the poetry I write, etc. So what’s new in the literary world? Well, the Pulitzer Prizes are out for 2008. Here are the winners:

In History: DANIEL WALKER HOWE for “What Hath God Wrought: the Transformation of America, 1815-1848”

In Biography: JOHN MATTESON for “Eden’s Outcasts: The Story of Louisa May Alcott and Her Father”

In Fiction: JUNOT DIAZ “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao”

In General Non-Fiction: SAUL FRIEDLANDER “The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945”

In Drama: TRACY LETTS for “August: Osage County”

In Poetry: ROBERT HASS AND PHILIP SCHULTZ for “Time and Materials,” by Robert Hass and “Failure,” by Philip Schultz

Feels like the Oscars. For those of you unfamiliar with the Pulitzer Prize, check out their site. Sad to say, I haven’t read any of these books. In fact, I haven’t read many books this year. Depression has a way of gripping you, so the only thing you can do is while away the hours watching boring television or mindlessly surfing the internet.

Also in the news, a new unit of HarperCollins is trying to do away with author advances and give them a larger share of book profits (up to 50%). The new unit would also discontinue the practice of allowing booksellers to return unsold books for refund. This would eliminate a lot of cost for the publisher and increase author profits. I think this is a fantastic move! Way to go HarperCollins.

I did, if you will remember, check out the Arrowgrove School of Erotic Writing. Well, I have to say I was very disappointed by their product. Most of what they sent was generic writing reference. There were four lesson books that comprised all of the erotic material of the course. Each one was maybe twenty pages long. I have a book on writing erotic fiction that is easily three times as long. There just wasn’t much content. Their market guide, was actually a book of Canadian national organizations…not a single publisher among them. Truly not worth the $698 I paid. I had expected lengthy material on writing erotica, that was after all the entire reason I wanted to take the course. Ah well, maybe one day my college will offer one. Not likely, as I live in a very conservative town but a girl can dream.

So what am I doing now? Well, I just finished registering for the summer semester. I figured it’s time I finish my degree. I keep putting it off because of money but I don’t really have that excuse now. I think I just didn’t want to take the math classes lol. I’m terrible at math. I even signed up for creative writing II in the fall. I’m really excited about that one. I really want to do it this time. We’ll see. I usually convince myself that I can’t actually do it and withdraw. Wish me luck…err fortitude. Wish me fortitude.

On a side note, while perusing books at Borders today, I found a trade paperback of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. It’s a must see movie full of rich macabre and downright spooky details. Feed your inner goth cookie. Mind you, I didn’t like the ending. I rather like Helena Bonham Carter and don’t feel that she got what she deserved. Check out the movie though. I think I might go back and snag that book…I have a coupon anyhow. 😛 Funny though, Depp’s character has a certain perpetual glower and responds in the most minimal way possible. I’m eerily reminded of my own dear fiance.

This entry was posted in creative writing, Erotica, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

