Woot for Writing Group!

Ok, so my writing group met tonight. I managed to get two solid pages in which is fantastic for me lately. I find it’s easier when I do my morning pages (see The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron). It kind of loosens me up, but I haven’t done them for a while. This week I’m training a new supervisor so it’s a little hard to work the time in. I don’t know about you but my ass isn’t getting out of bed an hour early. I’m a night owl…I do my best work in the wee hours of the night when I should be in bed. With this new day shift though, I don’t really have a peak time. I’m tired all of the time. I know, would I like some cheese to go with that whine…I actually just had some. This going back to veganism is pretty hard.

Anywho, I didn’t work on the prompt tonight. Instead I worked on a fantasy story I was going to do for NaNoWriMo last year. It’s actually been in my head for a while. I have a beautiful leather journal filled (my wonderful fiance bought me) with worldbuilding maps, descriptions, etc. for the main character’s homeland. Might be time to dust it off and finish it up. I didn’t use it for NaNoWriMo because I have high expectations for the story. I should, it’s been living in my head for several years. That doesn’t bode well with the type of writing in NaNoWriMo. I think I will write a fantasy story for the official one this year. I think fantasy is my best genre, but I dread writing it because I always think it’s trite and formulaic. With NaNoWriMo I can just go for it. Then I’ll know for sure how I truly feel about the genre.

I’m starting to get a little loopy. I’m working an early a.m. shift this week since the morning sup is on vacation. It’s kicking my ass. I have to take “sleep aids” (read knock off Nytol) just so I can get to sleep at 10:00. Totally sucks, I can’t wait until the week is over and I can go back to my semi-regular schedule. I took the pills at 8:00 and I’m a little drowsy. Guess I should’ve waited a little longer. Oh well, I could use the extra sleep. I ordered Nightmares and Dreamscapes today, the miniseries that is. I caught part of it on vacation in New Jersey last year and have wanted to see it since. I love Stephen King.

Well that’s it from me tonight. I’ll add some links into this once I’m back on my pc (posted this on my Mac).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

